Jerry

whatever LOL

tools of the trade…

I’ve gotten a couple of emails asking what kind of tools and machines I use in my clothing business, so I’ll give you a quick tour. From the tone of one email, the writer is really going to be disappointed when she sees my “shop”. I didn’t set-out to start a clothing business, economic times kinda pushed me into it. So I used what I had, which fortunately is working out so far. Had I put together a business plan, got some decent financing, etc, it would look a lot different…maybe someday.

As far as the space, I’ve always kept a “work” room. I like to make stuff. If I didn’t have an extra bedroom, I’d sleep on the couch. So the basics were there. The room is 10′ x 10′ with a small closet. Someone gave me a dining table, which is just about the right size for most projects. I built counters and shelves to fit, nothing fancy, just functional. In fact I’m still not done with the room, but I’ll get back to it later.

Sewing room of Tunics by Jerry

My Sewing Room

Like that color!? I read some color studies concerning creativity and productivity. Orange it is! I think it actually works too. I don’t seem to get drowsy all the time like I did when I worked in a gray cube as an office drone. So this is the view from the doorway. To the left is the closet and computer area, then of course a serger and a straight stitch machine. And lots of thread! I buy the 3,000 yard cones, which you really need on a serger. But I found a neat little adapter (in notions) that allows me to use the cones on my other machines too. You’ll save a ton on thread doing it that way. For bobbins, I recommend those cool racks they sell (behind the machine on the right) or make one. To save time, I keep about three bobbins of each color on hand. Don’t neglect your seating either. I found these two professional “task” chairs at an office liquidator for about $20 each, worth it!

Sewing Tools

My favorite tool is that red thing on the right. It’s a power rotary cutter. I started with the manual version on the left, but after Angel (of Bodice Goddess) let me borrow her’s, I had to own one. If you use the manual one, you have to have a cutting mat to go with it, not with the power one. If you do lots of cutting, ya gotta have one of these! The power version will go through about six layers of cotton twill like butter, sweet. **CAUTION** The blades on rotary cutters are simply round razor blades, touch ’em the wrong way an’ they’ll cut you, I know. Please be careful, I wouldn’t even let a pet near ’em. An assortment of rulers is good too, mine go from 6″ to 72″ and of course measuring tapes too. For marking, I use sharpies (yea, it’s like doin’ a crossword in ink), on dark colors I use tailors chalk. Chalk comes two ways, one that is really chalk and one that is actually wax, kinda like a crayon. Be careful with the wax one, it leaves marks on some fabrics. Test it with a hot iron, it should disappear. The other little goodie is that metal thing up on the left. It’s for making bias tape. They come in different sizes and work pretty good on cottons and linens.

Sewing Patterns

Sewing Patterns

Any pattern that I’m going to use a lot, I transfer to cardboard. My local Michael’s is nice enough to give me the used stuff from their custom framing area. Someday I’d like to transfer them to some kind of plexi or masonite board just like the pros do. Another choice is clear plastic sheet which you can buy in rolls at any hardware store. I always label my patterns and include dimensions. I keep some weights around too, or old books, whatever’s handy. The closet there is for storage, fabric, patterns,etc. The rest of the fabric is , well, on any flat surface in the house. I don’t throw anything away till it gets too small to be useful. My dining room is my showroom. I do allow folks to come by, with an appointment, especially during the winter when we’re not on the road.

Show Room

The "Show Room"

Well, that’s the nickel tour! I’m ta work now. As always, please email me with any questions and comments are welcome.

Cheers!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “tools of the trade…

  1. I loved the red tunic. I have been searching for a pattern like that one and can not find one. Did you make that pattern or buy it? I wanted to make my husband and friend one for christmas presents. Thank you
    Julie

Leave a comment